Ho Chi Minh – Vietnam

Reunification Express, Vietnam

Reunification Express, Vietnam

Nineteen years ago after an assignment in Ho Chi Minh City and the Cu Chi tunnels I decided to take the 40-hour train ride to Hanoi. This was known as the Reunification Express, for obvious reasons, and I have to admit that journey was a pleasant surprise. Back then, last century I was shooting black and white as well as colour. It was difficult to photograph out of the windows as they were covered by wire netting as local hooligans threw stones at the train as it made its 1,726-kilometre journey, however I personally did not experience this sort of unruly behaviour on my trip. There was a small gap at the top of the window where I could manage to poke my camera out, however I was limited in framing my shots.

Photograph taken with Nikon F801 & 24mm lens on 30th January 1994

Leave a Reply

